### Warwickshire County Council and the five district and borough councils

You may have heard of Warwickshire County Council (WCC), Coventry City Council and other councils around the area. The local council structure in England has a long history, different councils have different responsibilities. WCC is responsible for certain matters across the whole of Warwickshire, which can be seen within the green boundary in the image below.

The map also shows the lower tier authorities which deal with matters within those boundaries. Please remember Coventry is **not** part of Warwickshire.



## Warwickshire County Council and the five district and borough councils

As shown above there are five district and borough councils in Warwickshire. They are <u>North</u> <u>Warwickshire Borough Council</u>, <u>Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council</u>, <u>Rugby Borough</u> <u>Council</u>, <u>Stratford District Council</u> and <u>Warwick District Council</u>. Generally, the County Council is responsible for the more strategic functions and services such as education and social care, whereas the district and boroughs provide more local services.

#### WCC - County Council responsibilities include:

- Birth, marriage and death registration
- Education
- Fire and Rescue and public safety
- Highways and transport
- Libraries
- Social care
- Trading standards
- Waste management

#### District and borough council responsibilities include:

- Collection of council tax
- Environmental health
- Housing
- Leisure centres
- Local plans and planning applications
- Roadside waste collection
- Electoral registration office.

Please see this link for more information on Warwickshire County Council

Warwickshire County Council and the five district and borough councils



# English local government structure